Suffering for Art

I’m happier lately. Not quite happy enough to be content, but I’m beginning to find balance at the bottom of this deep valley I’ve fallen into. I can even see a few rocks to grab onto, to help myself out of this ditch. There’s going to be another hilltop, I’m determined of it. I’ll make my own if I need to!

This all sounds fine and dandy, but with my increasing happiness, I’m finding a simultaneous decrease in creativity… Which is bad, because I take predominantly creation based courses and have creative interests. I can’t get anything out! I’m at a loss as to how I express “meh I’m alright and getting better sorta” creatively and artistically. I’m not saying I’d like to revisit the places I’ve been over the past year, but boy. At least it gave me something interesting to write about.

MUST WE SUFFER FOR OUR ART? MUST THE GOOD DIE YOUNG? DID THE CHICKEN COME BEFORE THE EGG? IF A TREE FALLS IN THE FOREST AND NOBODY IS AROUND TO HEAR IT, DOES IT MAKE A SOUND? MUST I ASK EVERY CLICHÉ QUESTION I CAN THINK OF?

2 thoughts on “Suffering for Art

  1. I really believe that the depressed, tormented, addicted, demon-filled artist is a media-inspired creation. 99.9% of great art is created by people who are masters of their craft-and that involves hours and hours of painstaking, dreary planning, revising, editing, etc. hardly the work of an ‘inspired genius’ whose creation springs forth because of a spontaneous emotional outpouring of grief.

    Cvet

Leave a comment